//
you're reading...
Inspiration

Fear Of Hurt Will Hurt You More

“The fear of being hurt will hurt you more than facing that fear and finding freedom.”

Joyce Meyer

I can recall times where I felt absolutely invincible.  There was nothing I couldn’t accomplish and nothing that could stop me.  It truly is a superhero style feeling.  Then there are those times where I feel like Clark Kent underneath a boulder of Kryptonite.  All powers were gone and all strength withered.  The odd thing about those two periods is that there was little that was different in me.  I’m the same height and weight.  I’m just as smart and just as dumb as I ever was.  I’m just as strong and just as weak as I ever was.  With the exception of some self-imposed issues, there were no fundamental differences in me from my “Man of Steel” and “mild-mannered reporter” phases except for one.  When my strength is sapped, my will diminished and my mojo on the go-go…it is due to the single greatest weakness that any superhero can face…fear.

In the legend of Superman he has only one direct weakness…Kryptonite, a radioactive element that weakens everyone from that Superman’s home planet.  In the original versions of the Superman stories, Kryptonite was known to rob Superman of his powers while giving superpowers to humans.  Can you imagine anything, in real life, that could tip the scales so quickly on you?  Can anything make you quite so small and powerless?  Well yes, there is one thing…fear.

Fear is the weapon of choice for bullies (of all varieties).  Fear is the reason why most people feel insignificant to do what they’ve always wanted to do.  Fear is the reason why people settle…in jobs, in houses/cars, in relationships, and in life.  Fear makes what you are up against seem so much bigger than you.  Fear makes your resources seem so much less than what you need.  Fear makes your dreams seem so much bigger and your ambition seem inadequate.

What makes fear so insidious, is that it is magnetic.  Your fear will bring out the fear and repel the courage of others.  This is time when you most need strength, courage, compassion and a cheerleader in your camp.  More importantly you need a reason to overcome the fear, something more important than the fear, and something more important than the thing you fear.  You need freedom (however you define that).

About carpebootium

I am a modern-day pirate. I travel the world and trade in today's currency, information. I sail through opportunity, comedy, history and strategy to turn turbulent into tournament, chaotic into cathartic, and embarrassing into emboldening. There are none who should fear me save two: Those who have what I want and those who get in my way. Are you done sailing your calm waters with strong undertow? Have you your fill of empty treasure and oasis destinations? Well good...come and join my crew! We're a lively lot from all over the world but be forewarned...anyone attempting to drop anchor will be thrown overboard, shot, harpooned and then marooned on an isle of cannibals. We move on! If you are ready...welcome aboard the Carpe Bootium!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Fear Of Hurt Will Hurt You More

  1. Great items from you, man. I’ve bear in mind your stuff previous
    to and you are just extremely wonderful. I really like what you have got right here,
    certainly like what you are stating and the best way by which you say it.
    You are making it entertaining and you still care for to stay it smart.

    I cant wait to read much more from you. This is really a terrific site.

    Posted by url iherbs.com | March 15, 2014, 7:05 AM
  2. I do trust all of the ideas you have offered on your post.

    They are very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are very quick for
    novices. May just you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

    Posted by Vigrx Plus Side Effects | May 6, 2014, 3:35 AM

Leave a Reply

