//
you're reading...
Health, Inspiration, Music

What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger

There is something remarkable about going through a period in your life when you feel like you are going to die (figuratively, emotionally, spiritually, intellectually, or even physically). There is a freedom and a boldness and a perseverance that comes along with staying alive against all odds. There is a peace that comes along with it too that is beyond compare. To you, the greatest fear of everyone else (death) is believed to be a near certainty for you, so you make peace with it.

I don’t pretend to know what people with Cancer, AIDS, Leukemia, Heart Disease go through. While I have worked in hospitals and Oncology wards, the inner life of adults suffering with terminal illness is something I do not know. What I know is when I was a child I had chronic Asthma and Bronchitis which seemed like forever. My mother and I spent more nights with me in an Emergency Room than I care to think about. The most vivid memory that I have from that time was thinking…I’m going to do what I want to do because I don’t know if I’m going to be here tomorrow.

Interestingly enough, 18 years after I kicked the diagnosis of Asthma from my life I have become one of the “normal” people who fears far too many things that are far weaker than death. I have shrunk back from opportunity, back from challenges, and back from responsibilities because of fears far less rational than impending death. What this video means to me is a reminder that I have survived a marathon with death and come out the other side stronger. What this means to me is that everything else is secondary, unless I make it more than it is. What this means to me is something I have long cherished and long forgotten:

That which doesn’t kill me, had better start running!

About carpebootium

I am a modern-day pirate. I travel the world and trade in today's currency, information. I sail through opportunity, comedy, history and strategy to turn turbulent into tournament, chaotic into cathartic, and embarrassing into emboldening. There are none who should fear me save two: Those who have what I want and those who get in my way. Are you done sailing your calm waters with strong undertow? Have you your fill of empty treasure and oasis destinations? Well good...come and join my crew! We're a lively lot from all over the world but be forewarned...anyone attempting to drop anchor will be thrown overboard, shot, harpooned and then marooned on an isle of cannibals. We move on! If you are ready...welcome aboard the Carpe Bootium!

Discussion

One thought on “What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger

  1. Reblogged this on Android VB.

    Posted by Volume Booster | September 28, 2013, 1:17 AM

Leave a Reply

