//
you're reading...
Food

Mediterranean Chicken Salad Pitas

I just fixed this for my family yesterday and it was great.  Great flavor, great texture, and very light on the stomach.  I highly recommend this for a weeknight meal.  This recipe comes courtesy of Food Network Magazine and it’s a great seasonal dish.  My kids especially loved the apricots.

Poppy Seed Chicken Pitas

  • Serves: 4
  • Total Time: 40 minutes
  • Prep Time: 20 minutes
  • Cook Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 3 skin-on, bone-in chicken breasts (about 2 pounds)
  • Kosher salt
  • 1 large orange
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup sour cream or low-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans, almonds or walnuts, toasted
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh chives
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons poppy seeds
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup dried apricots, chopped
  • Torn lettuce leaves, for serving
  • 4 whole-wheat pitas, halved

NOTE: I went with 2 chicken breasts (~1.3 lbs.) because all three seemed like too much for this recipe.  I chose to use Greek yogurt over sour cream but I would be interested to taste the difference.  I used un-toasted sliced almonds (didn’t have the time for toasting, was still good).  As I didn’t have chives available, I skipped this altogether.  With regard to the poppy seeds, you can skimp on these.  That amount was simply too much for my liking.  I love the apricots in this.  I’m thinking of adding raisins or figs next time I make this, we love fruit.

Cooking Utensils

  • Vegetable peeler (orange)
  • measuring cups (mayonnaise, yogurt, nuts, chives, apricots)
  • measuring spoons (mustard, poppy)
  • vegetable zester (orange)
  • medium-sized saucepan w/ lid (chicken)
  • colander
  • large bowl
  • mixing spoon
  • sharp knife (celery, nuts, apricots)

Directions

  1. Cover the chicken with cold water in a saucepan and add 1 teaspoon salt.
  2. Remove strips of zest from half of the orange with a vegetable peeler; add the zest to the water.
  3. Cover and bring to a boil over high heat, then reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, uncovered, until the chicken is cooked through, about 18 minutes.
  4. Remove the chicken and let cool.
  5. (while Chicken is cooking) Grate the remaining orange zest into a large bowl;
  6. Juice the orange into the bowl.
  7. Stir in the mayonnaise, sour cream, mustard, celery, nuts, chives, poppy seeds, 1/2 teaspoon salt, pepper and apricot.
  8. Shred the chicken, discarding the bones and skin
  9. Toss with the dressing.
  10. Stuff a few lettuce leaves and some of the chicken salad into each pita.

Related articles

About carpebootium

I am a modern-day pirate. I travel the world and trade in today's currency, information. I sail through opportunity, comedy, history and strategy to turn turbulent into tournament, chaotic into cathartic, and embarrassing into emboldening. There are none who should fear me save two: Those who have what I want and those who get in my way. Are you done sailing your calm waters with strong undertow? Have you your fill of empty treasure and oasis destinations? Well good...come and join my crew! We're a lively lot from all over the world but be forewarned...anyone attempting to drop anchor will be thrown overboard, shot, harpooned and then marooned on an isle of cannibals. We move on! If you are ready...welcome aboard the Carpe Bootium!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

