//
you're reading...
Inspiration, Opportunity

Luck is More Than Chance

“I feel that luck is preparation meeting opportunity.”

– Oprah Winfrey

About carpebootium

I am a modern-day pirate. I travel the world and trade in today's currency, information. I sail through opportunity, comedy, history and strategy to turn turbulent into tournament, chaotic into cathartic, and embarrassing into emboldening. There are none who should fear me save two: Those who have what I want and those who get in my way. Are you done sailing your calm waters with strong undertow? Have you your fill of empty treasure and oasis destinations? Well good...come and join my crew! We're a lively lot from all over the world but be forewarned...anyone attempting to drop anchor will be thrown overboard, shot, harpooned and then marooned on an isle of cannibals. We move on! If you are ready...welcome aboard the Carpe Bootium!

Discussion

One thought on “Luck is More Than Chance

  1. There has been discussion over whether this quote should be attributed to Oprah Winfrey. For certain the quote is older than she is. For another, other famous people have said it before her. Here are my thoughts on the matter. Anything you have heard said has been said before. There is no guarantee it has been written down before, but you can bet it has been said before by someone, somewhere.

    This is part of the reason I have difficulty with “quoting” things because you attribute wisdom to someone who is the recipient, not the originator. I’m positive that nearly all of the wise sayings have their roots from ancient yogis, griots, philosophers, and priests…but we don’t have the written lineage to trace it. Consequently it gets attributed to the last great person to write it down. Personally, the message is the most important thing…not the sender. If you miss the message because of the sender, go on Google for a minute and find someone else who said it. If it makes it easier to digest by thinking me an idiot, go ahead and do that. I’ll be fine. The only thing I hope is that the message is delivered, repackage it if you must.

    Posted by His-Stor-E | April 20, 2012, 12:55 PM

Leave a Reply

