//
you're reading...
Opportunity, The Crew

Crew Member – Salman Khan: Providing a World-Class education for anyone, anywhere

Update: Sal Khan was just named one of Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in 2012…see here

 

I stumbled across this treasure of the Internet about a year ago and it’s been a help for me, my friends, and my family ever since.  Khan Academy is a site put together by a crew of very successful, very intelligent, very real people who decided that it’s not acceptable to have great education only be available to those who can afford it.  They put subjects (from Math and Chemistry to Civics and Economics) into bite-sized videos that you can play and re-play until the concept sinks in.  They use plenty of real-world examples that make the content easy to absorb.  Best of all (for Math), they have exercises where you can practice what you’ve learned, track your progress, and get rewarded for your efforts.

This is an excellent resource for people who want to learn math or other academic topics, but haven’t done well with traditional schools.  If you don’t believe me, ask the man (Salman Khan) himself

“I’ve been surprised at how motivated a lot of people are that you wouldn’t traditionally think would be that kind of a motivated student. They were the kid who failed out of college, failed out of high school, hated academics.”  – Salman Khan (posted from Building a better university)  an interview by Scott Olster, Fortune Magazine

Khan Academy Exercise Software

About carpebootium

I am a modern-day pirate. I travel the world and trade in today's currency, information. I sail through opportunity, comedy, history and strategy to turn turbulent into tournament, chaotic into cathartic, and embarrassing into emboldening. There are none who should fear me save two: Those who have what I want and those who get in my way. Are you done sailing your calm waters with strong undertow? Have you your fill of empty treasure and oasis destinations? Well good...come and join my crew! We're a lively lot from all over the world but be forewarned...anyone attempting to drop anchor will be thrown overboard, shot, harpooned and then marooned on an isle of cannibals. We move on! If you are ready...welcome aboard the Carpe Bootium!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Crew Member – Salman Khan: Providing a World-Class education for anyone, anywhere

  1. Hi thank you for presenting well prepared information.I decided I will be bookmarking this website for future updates.continue this good work.

    Posted by news | March 13, 2012, 3:02 AM
  2. I will right away snatch your rss feed as I can not find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly permit me understand so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    Posted by home inspection Ottawa | March 17, 2012, 11:25 PM
  3. Awesome and much needed. I have bookmarked this site and I suggest parents and educators view your blog and this site. Good looking out.

    Posted by Ma | March 23, 2012, 3:35 AM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: What We Need To Be Successful « Carpe Bootium - July 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

